Dungy Criticizes Ryan For Expletives, Ryan Answers

With the HBO series Hard Knocks comes an all access opportunity to see how the players and coaches act behind closed doors. Jets Head Coach Rex Ryan, is not holding anything back. Many people were taken aback by the amount of expletives in his speeches in the show.

After Ryan admits he had a conversation with his mother who didnt like him cursing so much, former NFL coach and current NBC football analyst Tony Dungy had his own take on it. Asked whether Comissioner Roger Goodel should look into the situation, Dungy said,”I don’t know that [Goodell] will or not, but I would hope that he does because I just don’t think the league needs that,” the former Buccaneers and Colts coach said. “I don’t think our young people need to hear that that’s the way it’s done to be successful. Because it doesn’t have to be that way.”

Ryan fired right back saying he was disappointed by Dungy’s actions. “I’ve been a big admirer of Tony Dungy, and I’m sure a lot of people are, but he unfairly judged me, and that was disappointing to me,” Ryan told reporters at training camp.

…I do not have a problem with Ryan’s cursing, it is a part of sports, whether Dungy likes it or not. Obviously Rex and Dungy have different coaching styles. I would rather see Rex being Rex than him fake a personality for HBO…

Rex also offered words of wisdom on the topic: “I’m always going to be myself. I’m a good person. Just because somebody curses doesn’t make him a bad person. Just because a guy doesn’t curse doesn’t make him a good person. I’ll stand by my merits.”

-Pete

Leave a Reply

